15
Aug
07

Arabian horses

horse.jpg

History of the Arab/Arabian Horse

The Arab or Arabian horse originates from the desert lands of Asia and the most famous are the horses of the Bedouin Arabs, known as the Original or Elite Arab. Through selective breeding the Bedouins developed an Arab horse which was tough and yet beautiful. It was these Arab horses that were used as a calvary horse by the Moslems and taken to North Africa and into Spain and France. Many Arab horses were left behind when the Moslems left and were left to breed with local horses creating such breeds as the Andalusian horse. The UK imported Arab horses in the late nineteeth and early twentieth century from Arabia.

Height of the Arab/ArabianHorse

The Arab horse stands 14.1 to 15 hh.

Colour of the Arab/ArabianHorse

Arab horses are most usually bay or chestnut but grey is also seen.

Characteristics of the Arab/ArabianHorse

The Arab horse has a small head with concave profile, large eyes and small muzzle, arched neck, sloping shoulder, strong level back, strong hindquarters, strong legs. Tail carried high, fast and free action, plenty of stamina.

Temperament of the Arab/ArabianHorse

Arab horses are brave, spirited and intelligent.

Uses of the Arab/Arabian Horse

The Arab horse is used as a general riding horse, for horse racing, and is particularly suited to endurance.

71 Responses to “Arabian horses”


  1. 1 pwincess
    August 17, 2007 at 10:37 am

    that info was cool. i neva knew those facts about arabians. i love horses and i can’t believe some people hate them.

  2. 2 pwincess
    August 17, 2007 at 10:37 am

    arabians r so beautiful

    • 3 Grant Reason
      November 8, 2012 at 3:04 am

      Pwincess, Don’t give a thought to any creature that would tell you they hate horses. THEY WOULD HAVE TO BE SUBHUMANS. After us Arabian horses are Natures finest creations. We would stil be hunter/gatherers were it not for the horse. Grant

  3. August 17, 2007 at 11:30 am

    Thank you..
    I m Turkish but I love Arabians and their culture…
    They re sensitive and artistic people in fact but couldn’t introduce themselves.
    Also they have poets, very strong literature and language full of whealty words.
    We all human and if we have friendship and connections, we can know each other and not war.
    Yesim.

  4. January 18, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    i will never hate horses 😛

  5. January 18, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    too bad i don’t have one ::(

  6. 8 Morgan
    January 25, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    I Have an Arab and this stuff is all true. Most Arabs have “great” atitudes. Mine is VERY energetic! Still, he is my best friend! Arabs Rule!

  7. 9 melissa
    January 25, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Cool, though I already knew this stuff… I totally love Arabs, they’re so cool!!!!

  8. 10 HawkCW4
    March 5, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    I too love Arabian horses…I once had the opportunity to train a Stallion while in Denver, Co. He was an awesome animal, and loved to work…He was grey, If I recall correctly, his name was Kubaishan and was owned by a man from New York..

    Thanks for your information, I appreciate it…BTW, Im American but temporarily living in Mexico,,also home to many good and well trained horses…

  9. 11 Ahmed
    March 22, 2008 at 6:56 am

    thank you for this lovely article … and the words u commented on it … i felt truely its coming from ur heart … i love horses … and i used to ride them when i was a kid … they are lovely,shapely and fast creatures and u have a lovely pic on ur blog which is the reason i came here … its one of the first google image results for “horse” … keep up the good work 🙂

  10. 12 sarah
    April 17, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    i love horses and that is a beautiful one if your selling it i want to buy it off you he awsom

  11. April 17, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    Thank you very much for your all comments, sorry if I am late to answer….

  12. April 22, 2008 at 2:25 am

    I love your horse! I hope i can one day ride one but i probably wont but i wanted to let you know that your horse is lovly.

  13. May 6, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    (Netherlands text)

    Ik heb zelf ook een Arabische Volbloed.
    Ze is erg wild maar ook een schatje.
    Ik doe met haar mee aan springconcours.
    We zijn met de kampioenschappen eerste geworden!
    Zo ziet ze eruit:
    Ze is grijs met zwarte manen en een roze snoet met een witte bles.
    Haar naar is Diamond Dream en ze is drie jaar oud.

    (engels text)

    I have a Arabian Fullblood to.
    She´s very wild but also cute.
    She´s a great jumper. We have a very close band whit us.
    She´s three years old whit black manes and a grey colour.
    She have a white spot on her head and a pink mouth to!
    She´s really cute.
    I love her so!

  14. May 10, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    I AM AMAZED MY HORSES THEY MAKE YOU FEEL SO GOOD.
    I READ A BOOK ABOUT HORSES IT WAS “THE BLACK STALLION.”
    IT WAS ABOUT A YOUNG BOY NAMED ALEC,WHO WAS SAVED BY A ARABIAN HORSE.

  15. May 22, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Arabians (and Horses) are SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOo bettr than dogs. We luv
    horses!!! 🙂

  16. May 25, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    Loved arabian horses since I was a girl. Their particular beauty brings tears to my eyes. Also I agree totaly with what you say about people–all of us.

  17. 19 Diana
    June 3, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    i have an arabian
    her name is Zahirah
    amazing horse…kind and good with kids!!

  18. 20 JJGirl
    June 5, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    OMG!!!! i think im one of those people who are NUTS about horses!! I live , aet and breath horses

  19. 21 MOLLY PERKS
    June 18, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    THEY ARE SO LUSH

  20. July 16, 2008 at 10:23 am

    all horses rule especially arabs. whoever h8s them sucks. lol. all this stuff is soo totally true i have a paso fino not an arab

  21. July 16, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    Excellent Horses Arabians have.., We have couple of arabian breed in our stud and i love riding them.

  22. 24 Emma Paul
    July 20, 2008 at 3:27 am

    awe – some!

  23. 25 bisher sioufe
    July 21, 2008 at 9:43 am

    وقعقعة الجام براس مهري احب علي مما تغمريني

  24. July 28, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    I love your horses I wish ride one but I can not find a place to ride a horse. I love hoses.

  25. July 29, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Hi!

    Can I copy your picture to my stable to tallini.fi?
    My stable name is Xenway and Nancyn?
    I want permission for stables.

    Thanks!

  26. 28 alias
    July 30, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    That picture of the horse there is beautiful, could I have your permission to use it? 🙂

  27. 29 king of qatar
    July 30, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    its very nice horse…thank you

  28. 30 idalmy
    August 7, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Whe I was very young I always dreamed to owm a horse, but living at that time in Puerto Rico and not having enough money even to survive, my parents never allowed me to own a horse. I’m older now and still to this day, I wish to have one. My dream to have never stops and I know sooner or later I would have an Arabian horse.

  29. 31 silence
    August 25, 2008 at 9:36 am

    The wind of heaven is the one which blows between a horse’s ears. It’s an Arabic proverb. I adore horses and found your blog entertaining and informative about Arabians. I come from Kyrgyz Republic, another place where people can’t live without horses 🙂

  30. 32 Mike
    August 26, 2008 at 3:47 am

    I have a purebred six year old gelding I inherited that needs a good home and someone to work with him. He is a beautiful bay and is from excellent blood lines. I would sell him for 2500.00.

    Mike

  31. 33 candace
    August 30, 2008 at 1:29 am

    horse i was ride sentes i was litte

  32. 34 İsmail Turgut
    August 31, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    I have Arab horses in Northern Cyprus. I breed them and involved them in my life a great deal. Ideal horse for Cyprus,Every weekend I take few friends and go cross country. They enjoy it as much as we do.Their stemina is nothing like any other horse. I am glad that they are in my life.
    I hope your friendship and interest in these animals last for very long time.

    İsmail Turgut

  33. September 5, 2008 at 1:10 am

    awesome article as a matter of fact i love horses and we have some but i would really really love an arabian oh well that day will come by the way your horse is beautiful

  34. 36 MATUS
    September 12, 2008 at 9:09 am

    nice animals and the best horses all aver the world
    smart ,strong and straight.

  35. September 27, 2008 at 3:21 am

    That horse is a sure beauty.

  36. 38 hannah
    September 30, 2008 at 10:58 am

    OMG your horse is so amazing.
    absoultly gorgeous!!
    you are th luckiest person alive.
    amazin horse
    xx

  37. October 13, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    Wonderful photo of a great looking Arabian horse. Thanks for posting this lovely photo!

  38. 40 Andreja Jakus
    October 21, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    I am so amazed with the picture of this elegant and proud arabian horse …
    I am originaly from Croatia, and I love horses so much, especially arabian horses, but not only those divine animals, I am a great admirer of arabian culture and its varietis …this world is full of beauty, exotic, fine poetry, excellent philosophers, brave women and men … there is so much to discover about this “hidden” world of greatness and fine, intelligent, mystic people …

  39. October 25, 2008 at 11:55 am

    i like arabians but thouroughbreds are better

  40. October 29, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    I too love Arabian horses. My first was bought for me when I was 4yrs old. She was 1/2 Arab and 1/2 welsh. Her name was Ginger. My second I bought when I was 18 yrs old. A colt, 3 mos old I named Anubis. He was 1/2 Arab and 1/2 quarter horse. I trained a 6yr old black Arabian stallion when I was 16. He was awsome! Never been ridden before I came along. I am now 37yrs old and have no horse. I want to some day purchase the perfect pure Arab for me.
    Thank you for this article. I thought it was well written.
    Mindy

  41. November 10, 2008 at 1:10 am

    i get to ride a paint\arab. his name is skip. i love him so much!!!!!!!!!!!
    i’ve got to go bye

    savanna

  42. 45 shamel shibl
    November 11, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    the arab horses r gift from god

  43. 46 paige
    November 23, 2008 at 10:59 am

    hi i love arabs and i ride at my friends and she breeds arabs and the 1 i ride is so frisky and stuburn!!! i love all horses but arabs exter !!!x

  44. 47 paige the pony babe
    November 23, 2008 at 11:04 am

    i havent got a horse but i love and ride them. my nans friend has a horse that i ride and i go tto my nans friends friends house and ride arabs the 1 i ride is tilly shes very frisky and stuburn!!! arabs so tottaly rule!!!

  45. December 3, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Arabians “The holy horses”.
    Some Arabians have a light spot in their neck , some people say it is the tumb of mohammed!
    Myn arabian has one.
    Their isn’t a better horse than a arabian horse!

  46. 49 Lonna B
    December 27, 2008 at 3:07 am

    Why does this horse look like the spitting image of Desperado V from Sheila Varian’s farm? If this is not him (I’ve owned relatives, so know what they look like), please advise the lineage of this horse in your photo. Thank you.

  47. January 11, 2009 at 2:17 am

    i love arab horses i wish i had one. poor me.

  48. 51 Gina Nakagawa
    January 17, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    The Arabian is a wonderful horse. I love living with them. The Arabs have given us many things which have enriched us. They have added words to the English vocabulary, concepts in mathematics, incredibly beautiful art and of course the horses and the hounds (Salukis).

    In America there are many gray (grey) Arabians thanks to a horse named Raffles imported from England in the 1950’s. I owned one of his relatives. I loved her dearly. She was smart and very opinionated. She was right most of the time, too. I miss her although I have her daughter and her granddaughter. They will never replace her, though.

    Hope I hear from you sometime.

    Best wishes,
    Gina

  49. 53 Simona
    February 18, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Hello my name is Simona and am from Czech republic. Your photos is very beautiful,nice.Goodbye

  50. 54 Dhkra
    March 4, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    i LOVE horsessss i tink i might win the record of loviing horses SPECIALLY asian horses bocause there’s a GREAT history behind arabian horses !

  51. March 13, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Awesome horse I have some Arabians.

  52. September 7, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    I love horses! The horse in this pic looks underfed. I can see it’s ribs! Other than that, I love Arabian Horses! their my favorite kind of horse!

  53. November 26, 2009 at 12:50 am

    ur horse is so beautiful i have an arab cross welsh and a shetland. arab’s are probily the most beautiful horses in the world ur’s is sooo!! gorgeous. my first horse died:( from grass sickness his name was danny he was a cod he was soo loyil to me and i miss him soo mutch but enoth abowt me ur horse is SOOO!! beautiful!:D

  54. 59 Henta
    November 29, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    I can only wish to have a horse like that, I’ll ask father Chrismas to make my wish come true one day

  55. 60 Adel
    December 30, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    By the steeds that run, with panting breath,
    And strike sparks of fire,
    And push home the charge in the morning,
    And raise the dust in clouds the while,
    And penetrate forthwith into the midst of the foe en masse―
    Truly Man is, to his Lord, ungrateful;
    And to that (fact) he bears witness (by his deeds);
    And violent is he in his love of wealth.
    Does he not know― when that which is in the graves is Scattered abroad
    And that which is (locked up) in (human) breasts is made manifest―
    That their Lord had been well-acquainted with them, (even to) that Day?

  56. 61 Fouad Chehimi
    January 5, 2010 at 12:24 am

    I love the arabian horse and we have in lebanon ALISSAR original arabian horse from jordon daughter SAKAB , thanks to all the horse lovers

  57. 62 makella
    August 8, 2010 at 3:13 am

    im only 14 but when i grow up i want to be a horse breader

  58. 63 Sami
    September 25, 2010 at 7:56 am

    i like this pic
    i think beauty is so angre at this time. 🙂
    )

  59. 64 grace davies
    September 26, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    i love horses even more now

  60. October 28, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    they r soooooooooo pretty. i have one but he is really jumpy n shy

  61. 66 annabelle
    December 13, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    arabian horses are sooooo pretty i have one named kissie and i love her sooooooo much and the pic of the arab is really cute 🙂

    annabelle

  62. 67 vez
    January 14, 2011 at 6:08 am

    Gorgeous horses-but they they can be dangerous.

  63. 68 boy_falls_4_girl
    January 20, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    Omg I absolutely love that picture and i loooovvveee horses!!!!! I’ve always wanted one so bad but I moved around a lot so I never got to have one. I took lescons when I was a little girl, but I had to stop because we moved 😦

  64. 69 Janna
    April 1, 2011 at 11:16 am

    in summer camp i got the love of horses… they are awesome!

  65. May 20, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    THIS HORSE IS THE BEST I HAVE ONE LIKE THIS BUT IT RAN A WAY.
    HAS ANYONE SEE IT?

  66. 71 gFrankSologehw
    October 26, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    Once I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get four emails with the identical comment. Is there any method you’ll be able to remove me from that service? Thanks!


Leave a Reply

